Black Desert Mobile features a fun Nightmare Mode, which provides the most powerful players with a space to battle deadly monsters for exclusive rewards. Not only that, but PvP is always enabled, which leads to some very fun stories.

In this guide, we’re going to take a deep dive into Nightmare Mode to help explain what it is and how you can make the most of it. Or, if it’s something else you’re looking for, check out our other Black Desert Mobile guides below:

Black Desert Mobile Nightmare Mode

What is Nightmare Mode?

Nightmare Mode is not for the feint of heart. This is the most challenging form of gameplay currently available in Black Desert Mobile. It challenges up to 100 players to head into a Nightmare Mode Zone, where they’ll face much stronger versions of monsters.

The upside is that you have a chance to get better rewards from these monsters, while the downside is that PvP is always enabled. That’s right – if you’re the sort of gamer that likes to ruin people’s day, you can run around killing your fellow players instead of monsters.

How do I Access Nightmare Mode?

Nightmare Mode will likely regularly change its location over time, but right now it takes place exclusively in Southwestern Calpheon. To access it, simply open your map, tap on Nightmare Entrance, and then hit Enter Nightmare to get started.

What Rewards do I Get for Playing Nightmare Mode?

When you tap on Nightmare Entrance, you’ll see a list of the potential rewards you can uncover by playing Nightmare Mode. These include rare armour sets, accessories, upgrade resources, and more.

Basically, when you’ve hit max level and are simply looking for the most powerful gear in Black Desert Mobile, Nightmare Mode is the place to go.

What Happens if Nightmare Mode is Full?

Nightmare Mode can only hold 100 players at once, which means it actually can fill up. In this instance, you’ll need to wait until there’s an empty spot before you can get started.

Why did I Get Kicked Out of Nightmare Mode?

As soon as you arrive in Nightmare Mode, you have five minutes to kill a monster or another player before you’re booted out. If you kill something within that time limit, it will reset. This is to prevent idle players from taking up spots in Nightmare Mode.

So PvP is Always on? Are There Extra Rewards For Killing Players?

That’s right: PvP is always enabled in Nightmare Mode, meaning you can kill any fellow player you see while exploring the zone. There is one exception though: you can’t kill guild mates.

PvP is purely provided for fun in Nightmare Mode though, as there are no extra rewards for defeating another player. If it’s rewards you’re looking for, murder monsters instead.