Jelly Splash Review

Aug 28, 2013

In short, Jelly Splash is Wooga’s latest take on the unstoppable Candy Crush Saga format that has achieved such an unprecedented amount of success for developer King in recent years. In the game, players will find themselves clearing dozens of colorful, squishy jelly creatures as they make their way through the game’s 100 challenging puzzles to save the jelly kingdom from an evil swarm of invading purple mushrooms. But although some people might favor jelly over candy in real life, after popping hundreds of the little squishy guys myself, it becomes apparent that there’s very little substance to be found underneath all that tantalizing jelly coating.

Read more »
 

Kitchen Scramble Review

Aug 27, 2013

City-dwellers know that some of the best food in the world comes off of food trucks. These mobile kitchens serve up deep-fried delights, grilled goodness, and fresh fare (but mostly deep-fried delights). Kitchen Scramble on Facebook is a time-management game based around an entrepreneuse who aims to dish out a diverse menu from the back of her own food truck. It’s a noble ambition; too bad the core gameplay is basically the same meal we’ve been served over and over. 

Read more »
 

NatGeo: World of Secrets Review

Aug 27, 2013

NatGeo: World of Secrets is a hidden object game fused with a quest-based simulation title, all playable right in your browser window. It features open-ended gameplay that lets you search and travel wherever you like, just as long as you find the items you need in order to proceed. Even though the gameplay focuses a little too much on repetition, you always feel like you're making progress towards a bigger goal.

Read more »
 

Governor of Poker: Texas Tycoon Review

Aug 26, 2013

I want to get something on the record right away: I did not vote for anyone to become Governor of Poker, and I wasn’t even aware such a thing existed. My editor says it might be an appointed position. Anyway, the series of poker games by that same name has made its way to Facebook in the form of Governor of Poker: Texas Tycoon, and… well, it’s a poker game. Yep, it’s definitely a poker game.

Read more »
 

Soldiers Inc. Review

Aug 26, 2013

Mere moments into my playthrough of Soldiers Inc., one thought asserted itself above all the others – the music was rather good for a social strategy game. As I trudged through the familiar motions of base building and resource collection, I found I had to amend that – no, it was really good. And for good reason, too. Although it has many of the stylings found in a host of other Facebook strategy games, Soldiers Inc. has the great fortune to feature the music of Jesper Kyd, the composer behind such scores as Assassin's Creed and Darksiders 2. Call me shallow, but that's enough to warrant a play of this otherwise run-of-the-mill strategy game in my book.

Read more »
 

Murder in Provence Review

Aug 22, 2013

Murder in Provence tells the story of a young woman seeking her sister in the south of France. It eventually gets to the whole "murder" plot, but by that time you'll have been put to sleep by the hidden object scenes, hassled with microtransactions, annoyed by expositional dialogue, and nagged with invite screens to the point where you would rather stare at your computer desktop instead of playing the game.

Read more »
 

Terra Monsters Review

Aug 19, 2013

The creatures of Terra Monsters are quite numerous. The stable of close to 200 monsters to capture and train is probably the game's biggest bullet point, actually. Even bigger than the "massive open world" and "over 100 quests." Unfortunately, it's also the only bullet point that measures up.

Read more »
 

Chat Fu Review

Aug 19, 2013

Chat Fu by Blot Interactive drives home a point we all learned in grade school: words can hurt. The game plays like an action/fighting title that’s been cross-bred with Charades. Chat Fu for Facebook offers a good time with words and flying fists, even if there are some technical issues that foul up the fight a bit.

Read more »
 

VEGA Conflict Review

Aug 16, 2013

Production values aren't everything, but all the same, it's hard not to do a double take when you boot up Vega Conflict and find yourself confronted with a well-voiced and decently animated cutscene. Here, such attention seems to suggest, is a social strategy game for Facebook among the legions of tired clones that's actually worth playing. For the most part, that's true. Vega Conflict may tread similar ground as KIXEYE's previous hit, Battle Pirates, but it handles the transition to space with panache.

Read more »
 

Fairy Tale Twist Review

Aug 11, 2013

Despite some hits and misses, Zynga maintains its position as the pre-eminent purveyor of “fee-to-play” (nope, that's not a misspelling) and its latest pay-as-you-play is a simple little adventure puzzler called Fairy Tale Twist. Although this little match-three game isn't as hard to put down as a certain candy-themed title that shall remain nameless, it succeeds in bringing enough new stuff to the match-three genre to make it worth your while.

Read more »
 

Get Gamezebo daily updates in your inbox